In addition to my regular duties as Director of the Japan Office for the State of Mississippi, it is my honor that I was appointed as the President of the American State Offices Association (ASOA) for 2018.

Since ASOA was founded in 1980, our association has been actively engaged with promotion of investment, trade and tourism between Japan and the United States as our common mission. ASOA now consists of 20 states and our association introduces each state’s investment opportunities and target industries at various seminars and trade shows in cooperation with the U.S. Embassy, JETRO and other organizations.

The investment and trade between Japan and the U.S. have steadily increased and Japan has become the 2nd largest FDI country in the U.S. Total FDI stock from Japan to the United States was over $424 billion in 2016. Japanese companies directly support over 856,000 U.S. jobs, over 45 percent of which are in manufacturing sectors. They also have contributed to export their products from the U.S. and its amount has reached $787 billion.

The United States is well known for its innovation in AI and IOT. Such advanced technology improved production efficiency. As a result, U.S. manufacturers are gradually coming back to the U.S. from overseas and many foreign countries are also looking to the U.S. for their new investments. The U.S. is one of a few countries with growing population with Canada among G7 nations and its strong economy leads the global growth. Trump administration gives high priority to job creation as one of his main policies and announced a big tax reform plan including a federal corporate tax cut to make the U.S. a more attractive country for investment.

I believe that companies will be able to find the most adequate state which meets each company’s needs out of our member states. Our member states’ investment opportunities and contacts are on this web site. Please feel free to contact us.

Yukio Kobayashi (State of Mississippi, Japan Office)
American State offices Association



President Yukio Kobayashi (State of Mississippi)
Vice President Koji Nagasaka (State of Nebraska)
Vice President・Treasurer Sumio Shibata (State of North Carolina)
Vice President Erisa Yamamoto (State of Ohio)

Committee Chairpersons

Program Koji Nagasaka
Masamichi Takahashi
(State of Nebraska)
(State of Kentucky)
Trade and Investment Erisa Yamamoto
Masako Masuda
(State of Ohio)
(State of Pennsylvania)
Communication Yumiko Nakazono
Dai Takagi
(State of Georgia)
(Intercast as IT advisor)

ASOA Secretariat